2gabbygals's Blog

Competitive Moms, Competitive Children?

Posted on: April 19, 2010


Beatrice:     Before I became a parent, I never considered the amount of competition there is out there amongst parents and getting our children into activities and schools. You have to seriously have your ducks in order to get your kids signed up for stuff. It just adds to the stress, and is so ridiculous.

Lila:     Tell me about it. The competition was what I had read in books, but I guess it’s based real life. Remember when I went to enroll Thomas into school at 4:00 in the morning and I was beaten by 16 other parents. The sign up sheet was supposed to be posted at 4:00. How could I have been so way back? Turns out, one of the other mothers decided to make her own sign up sheet and posted it the night before. Total cheater. But this goes to show what I am up against. As mothers, we have so much to worry about and competition should not be on top of the list.

B:     It only gets worse! I have even found myself getting right in there and being like the rest of the parents. I had to wake up early today to sign Brody up for baseball, just so he doesn’t get on the waiting list. I had to do the same thing for his soccer. I guess once they decide which sport they want to focus on, it will be all on them to tryout and make the team.

L:     Who knew that in order to give your child a decent life, we would have to lie and cheat. I hope our kids appreciate this.

B:     Well, I would definitely say that I am not about to go down the road to lie and cheat to get my kids into something. That would perpetuate the problem. I think our parents had a much easier time with raising kids. You should have seen Brody’s soccer game today. The boys are only 5-6 years of age, and the parents are going crazy on the sidelines. So why is our generation like this?

L:     We are so competitive. I think our generation is all about having more and more. We want everything and we want it now. And that holds true with our kids. It’s sad, but look at me. I can’t help myself, but I keep wanting more.

B:     For me, it is just that I want the best for my children. Which some day may mean moving away from all this crap. That is why we are looking at moving to some acreage away from the people who are trying to keep up with the Joneses.

L:     But it may be good to expose them to competition and the “grandeur,” but not let them have it. Makes them appreciate what it means to work a hard day’s work. You don’t want them to be so sheltered that they don’t know what to do when they are exposed to it.

B:     I am a firm believer that you don’t want to put kids into too many activities as they need to learn to have time off to, where they figure out what to do with themselves. Just to be kids! They say too many kids are being overstimulated and will lead to all sorts of issues into their adult life. Who they are, I am not sure. But I tend to agree.

L:     Oh trust me, Oliver and I do not have the energy to take Thomas to all these events. He’ll have to be selective about what he wants to do. However living in the city allows him to experience a lot of things that a person who lives in a more secluded area may not. We’re big city folks and we want our son to not be afraid of the big city experience. That does not Mean he will get everything he wants. Not at all. He will have to work for his things. At least that is what I am saying now. We’ll see how it goes. Hahaha.

Leave a Reply

Having Coffee

2 Gabby Gals

Favorites

