2gabbygals's Blog

I’ll Drink the Kool-Aid

Posted on: April 22, 2010


Lila:     I am sooooo over the fashion magazine ads using young twenty-somethings in their skin care ads. We are supposed to have flawless skin like them? Please…they don’t even use the stuff. The definition and expectations of beautiful women are so weird. How am I suppose to keep up with all this?

Beatrice:     I have a feeling they may even be younger than that. I don’t pay too much attention to those magazines, only because I understand how much photo shop they do. Those girls don’t even look like that. Talk about skin care, I use to have flawless skin and only used Cetaphil cleanser and moisturizer. Then for some dumb reason I decided to use Arbonne, which had about 10 steps in daily skin treatments. I used it for about a year, and for about a year my skin looked horrible. I would break out with zits and wonder why this was happening in my early 30’s. Then I was out to lunch with Renee who was talking about the same thing. So we both concluded that it had something to do with our new skin care treatments. So we decided to try going back to our plain jane Cetaphil and low and behold our face cleared back up and looking good. I swear by that stuff.

L:     I use Cerave myself because I noticed my skin was getting blotchy from all the toxins.

But why does society dictate our definition of beauty and when did it get so convoluted? Take for example Christina Hendricks. She’s gorgeous and she is what a real American woman looks like, yet she gets bashed by critics for being full-figured. Someone went as far as airbrushing her to look thinner before they published a picture of her. That’s so lame. To me the definition of beauty to Americans is to be a curvy woman, who is  still thin, with flawless skin, beautiful hair, and never ages. That’s hard to keep up with.

B:     I have never heard of Cerave, but I am not going to start something different now. I will stick with what I have been using for the past 20 years.

I think what you are saying about society dictating our definition of beauty brings up a good question as to why we allow media and corporations guide our values and thoughts. We aren’t behaving as individuals,  we are a bunch of sheep being guided by some A-hole and A-holes that decides what will be aired and what will be published.

L:      You know back in the day, someone like Christina Hendricks would not be considered beautiful because she was not big enough. In the Asian culture, she is too big. As a fellow Asian, our culture wants our women small and petite. But you know they have conducted surveys and experiments and most people prefer women to be a little heavier. Why do we let some media executives, like Anna Wintour, determine what is beautiful and then Hollywood is right there to back them up? I will admit that I fall for it. I drink that Kool-Aid by the gallons.

B:      I think women are guilty of drinking the Kool-Aid. Men seem to have their own thoughts on what they find attractive, and they are not going to be told who and how to like what they like. Men do not drink the kool aid. Women bring this upon themselves.

Every culture has their own ideas on what they find attractive. I have yet to see Jessica Simpson’s new reality show on beauty around the world, but I am sure it has many examples.

L:     I am just saying that I will drink the Kool-Aid, but I want a different flavor from time to time.

1 Response to "I’ll Drink the Kool-Aid"

You guys are funny.

Leave a Reply

Having Coffee

2 Gabby Gals

Favorites

