2gabbygals's Blog

Toxic Friendships

Posted on: April 28, 2010


Lila:     Did I tell you about my recent episode of Dawn? I ran into her in March and we talked about doing something with the girls. She said she was going to send out an e-mail, but that was two months ago. Anyway, she finally organized something and it is conveniently during her birthday month. I got kind of annoyed because she never talks to us and then conveniently does it because she wants us to celebrate her birthday. Anyway I told Elizabeth and Kayla that I did not want to partake in the birthday gift because I did not want to spend $50 on someone I do not consider as a friend anymore. Kayla was nice enough to tell me that they will take her out separately for her birthday. Do you think I was in the wrong for this?

Beatrice:     No, you are not in the wrong. It is not like you were that close with her to begin with, or at least that is how I saw it. Dawn is a strange girl, she is a chameleon. I knew her 10 years ago and she was totally with it, then she comes back from Boston and weirdo is all I can say. She doesn’t really care to be your friend, and seems to always be out of it when you are with her, so why bother.

L:     I know. That’s what I told myself. She is a superficial friend: a person who is a friend when it is convenient for her. But at the same time, I feel like I should not give up on her. We are on such different wavelengths, but I hate to give up. I am one of those people who does not have a lot of friends. I cherish every few ones that I have. I know a lot of people come and go in my life, but when it comes to my true friends, we just pick up where we left off. But I hate giving up.

B:     As I have gotten older, I don’t try as hard. I tend to make friends easily, but I don’t go out of my way anymore. I have realized that even some of my once called really good friends have ups and downs and I just roll with it. What I focus on now is whether or not the person are good for me. If it is toxic, I don’t partake.

L:     I don’t think it is toxic. I just think it is fake and do not have time for fake.

B:     That is toxic to me, why do you have to wonder if she is being authentic or fake. If you have to put too much into it, then it isn’t worth the effort. Look what she did to her ex fiance. She has some major issues.

L:     I know you are right. I was just checking to see if I made the right decision.

Leave a Reply

Having Coffee

2 Gabby Gals

Favorites

