2gabbygals's Blog

The One Moment That Changed Your Life

Posted on: May 8, 2010


Lila:     I know we both have pretty good lives, but what if you made one decision differently? How would things change? Is there any one significant decision you have made that has changed your life?

Beatrice:     There is a huge thing that I have buried in me that would have changed both Toolman and my life had we done things differently, and I was just thinking about this very subject yesterday morning on my way to work. This thing however is something I am not willing to share with the blog world. What about you?

L:     That sounds interesting. I will give you your privacy.

I have a friend named, Lori, who use to be my manager from a previous job. I was interviewing for a job with Lori. She was conducting the interview for the hiring manager because he was away. At the end of the interview, she asked me if I would consider working for her instead of the other manager. I declined because working for her meant moving away from my live-in boyfriend at the time. I went home and it just so happened that he and I got into a huge fight and I had to seriously think about moving away. I picked up the phone the next day and told Lori I would love to accept her offer. By the end of two weeks, I moved out and started a new life. If I had stayed, I would have mistakenly married him and be divorced by now. So that moment was meeting Lori. She changed my life. I tell her how she’s changed my life all the time.

B:     Interesting. I do think there are a lot of these moments in life. Had I not been with Reginald, I probably would have not been working in the industry I am, and more than likely would be in the medical field. I can’t blame him, but I would have gone in a different direction had I not been so wrapped up with that jerk. I think of those times a lot and how I didn’t stay true to myself.

L:     I brought this up because the show Lost is tackling this subject. Beyond the what if’s, the message is that regardless of what you choose, the same people will touch your life. What if you did go into the medical field, you could have met Toolman as a patient. It’s like our souls are bound to each other. I know as a Buddhist, we believe this. I would have met you eventually and we would have still been friends. You could have been my neighbor in California. How funny, huh?

B:     I totally believe this too. It is funny we are discussing this because I have been thinking a lot about “what ifs”. For instance a girl I was friends with as a child, but lost contact with her in adolescents contacted me through FB, and now we are talking a lot and plan to meet up for lunch or dinner this week. She and I are meant to be in each other’s lives for some reason.

I also have being trying to figure out the meaning of things, like what am I suppose to learn or do out of this situation, whatever that “situation” may be. Big thing on my mind as you know is my husband’s layoff. Why is this happening and what are we suppose to make out of this? It makes me think a lot about my own career and what I need to do to make changes.

L:     I know you have a lot on your mind. As a Buddhist, we reach enlightenment by dealing with each issue. The more issues we have, the closer we get to enlightenment. You will look back some day and say things worked out as they should.

Have you read The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom? It was really poignant and totally unexpected. Read it.

B:     Sometimes I wish I had a crystal ball, but then maybe I don’t.

I have not read this book, and sounds like I should right now. I will have to go check it out.

L:     I would lend it to you but I gave it to someone else. The five people are not who you expect, but important in shaping the character’s life.

B:     Sounds like a book to go read.

Leave a Reply

Having Coffee

2 Gabby Gals

Favorites

