2gabbygals's Blog

How Much Can One Family Take?

Posted on: May 19, 2010


Lila:     Yesterday I found out one of my teammates has to deal with another health issue. She was diagnosed with breast cancer last year. She is still going through chemotherapy so she works from home. Every time I see her, she smiling and laughing. So awesome. I found out that her 5-year-old was diagnosed with lymphoma this past weekend. How tragic is that? How can one family be put through so much? Life really isn’t fair.

Beatrice:     Wow, that is really sad! I often wonder if families that have cancer or have multiple people in the family with cancer, if they live somewhere that causes it, like power lines or water, etc. There has been lots of studies that suggest this. Or do they have a genetic coding that is triggered. Once again all these things are stuff you worry about when you have kids. I have a close childhood friend who had leukemia from the age of 3 to around 5 or 6, and she is still alive today and has two children. So both of them can beat this and I pray they do. 

L:     I looked up the kind of cancer he has and it is linked to some genetic coding. It is still so sad because he’s 5 and no five-year old should have to go through chemotherapy.

My question is how does a family, who is dealing with so much, handle another one? The family has to be so strong. I am not sure if I can do it.

B:      I think you would have to have a strong faith and support group to get through it all. As a mother, I am sure I would just do all I could to get my child healthy and maybe not have much time to think of all the hardship.

L:      I am sure you have to stay strong as a mother, but she was down already. I commend her. You spend your whole life, from the point of conception on, protecting your little ones. You make sure they eat, learn, and are happy. You don’t want bad things around them. And then this happens. So sad.

B:      No one is immune to these sorts of events, and it is all very scary. As your friend you should see what you can do for her. Maybe you can make her some meals. This is the time they need support and a reminder that they have love and prayers.

L:      That is what I was going to do.

B:     That would be great! Let me know if you want any help. We can always look at things the 5-year-old would need too, which we can work on getting for him.

Leave a Reply

Having Coffee

2 Gabby Gals

Favorites

